I *so* no longer care that “Jem has a new address”

You know who you are; turn off your auto-reply-er.

If I see another one of these in any of the lists I’m subscribed to, I’m gonna scream! You are making the problem worse.

Reply-To: jem@loftinspace.com.au
From: jem@loftinspace.com.au
To: **@**
Subject: Jem has a new address

Thank you for your recent email. Unfortunately, due to spam overload, I no longer accept mail to this address. 

If you would like to receive my new email address, please call me. My phone number is listed in www.whitepages.com.au

Best wishes
Jem

5 Comments

  1. Joel Hockey
    Posted April 19, 2004 at 6:03 am | Permalink

    This is my good friend Jeremy’s email address. I’ll pass on the message.

  2. Posted April 19, 2004 at 6:19 am | Permalink

    sweet

  3. Jem
    Posted May 25, 2004 at 4:44 am | Permalink

    Hi Matt. Sorry for the inconvenience. The autoreply has been on long enough. I’ll shut it off tonight when I get outside of the office proxy.

    Oh, and what do you use freemarker for? That’s a dodgy product. :)

    Cheers
    Jem

  4. Jem
    Posted June 3, 2004 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    Matt,

    I turned off the autoreplier straight away. A few hours later I realised this wouldn’t be good enough as there would still be ‘unsuccessful mail’ messages bouncing back, so I opened up the mailbox again to silently swallow all messages. Now I should be truly anonymous – except for the corners of the world where your RSS feed reaches. :)

    Looking at the deluge of mail coming in again … it seems to be all the same sort of stuff I was getting when I shut it down. A little bit of spam, a large amount of virii, but no legitimate emails. I’m curious as to what mailing lists you saw my message on?

    Cheers
    Jem

  5. Posted June 3, 2004 at 11:15 pm | Permalink

    Hey Jem,

    Let me see if I can find it… it was lucene-user around 1st Feb. Though, thinking again now, it could have been virii sending email to you with the lucent-user from address… maybe.

    Oh, and we were getting heaps of these messages to our clover-user address. That was definitely virus activity (virii sending you email with our from address, so the responses bounce back to us.)

    =Matt

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*